About Us

Maths Hub is one of a network of 40 Maths Hubs in England, working together within the Maths Hubs Programme, which began in 2014. The programme is funded by the Department for Education (DfE) and coordinated by the National Centre for Excellence in the Teaching of Mathematics (NCETM). Find out more about the programme at mathshubs.org.uk.


This programme is close to our hearts because our experience is that effective collaboration is key to supporting improvements in education.

Being a Maths Hub means we can establish a London-wide network for sharing strong teaching and learning practices, supporting better training for teachers in both pedagogy and subject knowledge in these times of rapid, but exciting curriculum reform.


We are keen to welcome more teachers from different schools, phases, universities and maths associations to take part in the continuing development and design of the curriculum, assessment, and training program. 


We will continue to post information about the developments of this programme and our other ongoing projects to allow more schools a chance to engage


  • Geoff Payne - Chair of the Board

  • Sharon Bolger - Senior Leadership Link

  • Gill Leahy - Maths Hub Lead

  • Heidi Whitney - NCETM Regional Lead  

  • Dr Ajay Sharman - STEM Learning Regional Lead

  • Paul Glaister - Professor of Mathematics, University of Reading

  • Joanne Wallin - Improvement and Development Advisor, Croydon Local Authority

  • Jacquelyn Lomas - Harris Federation, Principal for School Improvement

  • Helen Farmery - BA Primary Education Programme Leader at Middlesex University

  • Lee Pender - Head of Thames South Teaching School Hub

  • Amy Lesik - Director of Lambeth Teaching School Alliance

  • Dan Abramson - Headteacher at Kings College London Mathematics School

  • Esther Gee - Deputy Headteacher at Rosendale Research School

  • Natasha Evans - Director of Harris City Academy Crystal Palace Teaching School

Strategic Board